Minimum Wage to Increase for Michigan Employees

The state of Michigan has recently passed a law that will gradually increase the minimum wage for non-exempt employees to $12.00 per hour by January 1, 2022.  The state minimum wage applies to all Michigan employers with two or more employees who are 16 years of age or older.

In the past, Michigan has allowed employers to pay tipped employees 38% of the minimum wage, but that percentage will gradually increase to 80% of the minimum wage by January 1, 2022.  Continue reading