Paid Leave Soon to be the Law in Nevada January 2020

Following suit with other states, Nevada will soon require employers with 50 or more employees to provide general paid leave to all employees. This include full-time and part-time employees, but excludes temporary, on-call, and seasonal employees.

Effective January 1st, 2020, employers must provide “at least 0.01923 hours of paid leave per hour of work performed.” This means that an employee who works 40 hours a week for a whole year will accrue 40 hours of paid leave. This paid leave can be used for any reason, in fact your employee does not have to give you a reason. Still, employees must give a “reasonable” amount of notice before using their paid leave. Continue reading

Paid Time Off Sharing: Make Policy Fair

vbsd0147_ntsc

Question: Several times in the past we’ve allowed employee “A” to donate unused sick leave to employee “B” who needs help. Now again an employee has requested permission to donate sick time.  We don’t have a written policy on this.  We don’t have a problem allowing this but think it’s time we make some decisions and put our policy in writing.  Can you give us some guidance?

Specifically, should an employee in need have exhausted all of his or her time before receiving time from someone else?  Should we put a limit on the number of days that can be given to an employee? If a high paid employee donates to a lower paid employee, how is the donated time valued?

Continue reading