California Employers Must Provide Notice to Employees of Rights to Domestic Violence Leave

On September 14th, California Governor Jerry Brown signed a new bill, AB 237employmentlawupdate7, which requires employers with 25 or more employees to provide notice to their employees of their right to a protected leave of absence for domestic violence, stalking or sexual assault.

By no later than July 1, 2017 the California Labor Commissioner is expected to develop and publish a form to be used to provide this notice to employees at the time of hire and at any time during employment upon employee request. Continue reading

Los Angeles: New Paid Sick Leave Ordinance

On June 2, 2016 the City of Los Angeles approved a city sick leave ordinance separate from the required California state sick leave requirements. This new city ordinance goes into effect on July 1, 2016.

Employees who work two or more hours in a week in the city of Los Angeles will accrue up to 48 hours of sick leave per year. Ttime-371226_1280his is double the amount required by California state law (24 hours).

This new rule applies to employers of all sizes with employees working in Los Angeles. There is not a lower cap for small employers like there is for San Francisco or Santa Monica small employers. Continue reading

California Minimum Wage to Increase to $15

California Governor Jerry Brown recently signed Senate Bill 3 which will gradually increase California’s minimum wage from $10 to $15 by January 1, 2022.

For employers with 26 or more employees, the California minimum wage will increase based on the following schedule: Continue reading

New California Employer Anti-Bullying Training Required January 2015

california-43750_1280On September 9, 2014, California’s Governor Jerry Brown signed into law a new bill requiring California employers to provide anti-bullying training to all supervisors/managers.  This new bill, AB-2053, goes into effect on January 1, 2015.

Current California law requires all employers with 50 or more employees to provide at least two hours of sexual harassment training to all supervisors/managers every two years.  Under the new bill, these same employers must “include prevention of abusive conduct as a component of the training.”

Continue reading