This law requires all California employers to provide at least three paid days of sick leave to their employees each year. This law does not include an exemption for small employers.
Effective July 1, 2015, any employee who has worked at least 30 days in California within 12 months of employment will begin accruing paid sick leave. The paid time must be accrued at a rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked beginning with either the employee’s hire date or with the effective date of this law. Employers can limit employees to using only 24 hours per year and accruing only 48 hours total.
Employees can begin using their accrued time off after 90 days of employment.
At the end of each year, employees must be able to carry over any accrued but unused sick time, limited to the 48 hours accrual cap.
In the event the employee’s employment ends, whether voluntary or involuntary, employees are not entitled to a payout for any accrued and unused sick time.
If your company already has a paid time off or sick leave policy, you are not required to provide any additional leave as long as the existing policy satisfies all requirements of the new law.
To prepare for the enactment of this law, California employers are encouraged to review their existing paid time off policies and ensure that they are in compliance with the new requirements.
For the full text of the law, you can visit the California Legislative Information website.